SEO or Google Ads…
- Which can get not just traffic but generate qualified leads on my website?
- Which can bring me potential buyers at a lower cost?
- Should I go with long term SEO or rely on quicker results with Google Ads?
I have often heard these questions from my amazing Canadian clients.
Honestly, choosing one from them sounds like tossing between cardio and weight training for better health.
I’ve never been biased to take one’s side. But I’ve definitely helped them secure top spots, driving MQLs and SQLs, consistently. So, I can do it for you.
However, before you commit blindly, know exactly what differentiates SEO and Google, and which to choose when. The right knowledge can bring your confidence.
So let’s go deep!
SEO & Google Ads: Key Factors on Which Their Performance Depends
As you can see above, for example, Zoho appears at the top in the “employee tracking tool” search result, identified as “sponsored”. On the other hand, Hubstaff is ranking without search ads. That’s exactly how your product or service is spot on.
When it comes to ranking your website, three main things work as part of your cost-effective SEO strategy:
- On-page SEO (what you do proactively on your website pages):
- Humanized, high quality, query based content tells your brand’s story through blogs and landing pages. What you provide and how they bring benefits in your customers’ table.
- Natural keyword insertion, meta title, tags, and, description, and internal links throughout helps search engines understand what your website is about. Better crawlability helps your audience find your offerings easily.
Build visibility and trust that supports your brand growth to attract potential buyers.
- Off-page SEO (what happens outside but has an impact on your website):
- High-quality backlinks signal trust, relevancy, and authority to search engines through external validations.
- Brand mentions and citations in different forums, news articles, social media, or any other sites helps your website get new reach.
- Technical SEO (behind the scene tech setup):
- Bots love it, when you meet technical criteria. By optimizing your website’s infrastructure, you ensure it’s crawlable, indexed, and accessible.
- You fix broken links, implement structured data, and use canonicalization. Optimize page speed and security, and device-based performance. You enable rich results.
Note: The strategic SEO practice helps your website secure spot on first page and #1 place. It also makes AI-driven searches easier to display your brand in 7.6% of Google searches.
The auction-based platform, Google ads, in contrast, entirely depends on how competitive the advertising campaigns you can set on fire. Here’s what you need to take care of:
- Bid amount (what you invest in achieving goals)
Set your bid amount to align with specific advertising approaches. The higher you bid, the better you win. However, the success of your ad campaign strategy depends on how smart you can play with
- Cost-per-Click (CPC) bidding (aiming for targeted website traffic)
- Cost-per-Action (CPA) bidding (driving specific user action)
- Cost-per-Thousand Impression (CPM) bidding (improving brand visibility and awareness)
- Cost-per-View (CPV) bidding (focusing on viewer engagement with video Ads)
- Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) bidding (achieving specific ROI goals)
You either utilize manual effort, or let algorithms optimize and automatically adjust your bid amount. In both cases, the goal is simple: maximize the effectiveness for high-converting pipelines.
- Ad quality (what you can create to convert)
Google doesn’t only prioritize how good you’re at bidding; it optimizes how good you can maintain a consistent quality score. By improving the score, you can decrease CPC, but increase positioning on SERP.
The three main factors play a major role in making up your ad quality score. They can help outperform higher bids when you meet
- Expected Click-through-Rate (the likelihood of getting clicks on your ads when they are shown)
- Ad relevance (how closely you can match the user intent by inserting keywords)
- Landing page experience (how smoothly and fast your target audience can find answer of their queries)
- Budget and time frame (what are you willing to spend in total and how long)
It controls how often your ad appears and how long it can be visible to your target audience. For instance, with a budget of $1000 CAD, you run a 1-day custom ad campaign for your restaurant. And, on the other campaign, you spend $1000 CAD per day for 7 days, with similar goals. Chances are high, in the second case, you’ll get more clicks. Not for investing more, but for repeated exposures.
Note: Like others, your Canadian business can also make $2 for every $1 spent on Google Ads. But don’t overlook the fact that SEO’s organic search can alone drive 39.8% CTR. |
SEO vs Google Ads: What Differentiates This Dynamic Duo
SEO and Google Ads, both work to enhance your website in SERP. Build engagement, drive leads.
While SEO works like a marathon runner, Google Ads acts as similar as a sprinter. The first one takes months to get visibility, the next one drives immediate traction.
And, there are more factors to vary, as follows:
Key elements | SEO | Google Ads |
Speed of results | Slow (a minimum 3-6 months) | Immediate |
Cost per click | $0 after setup | Varies ($0.50 to $10+) |
Long term value | Builds over time | Ends when budget stops |
Trust & credibility | Higher (organic results) | Lower (marked as “Ad”, or “sponsored”) |
Best for | Long-term traffic & authority | Quick wins, promotions, testing |
Now, let’s understand the core of how they cover customers’ journeys, differently.
Let’s say, you’re using a funnel as part of your digital marketing strategy – attract strangers. Take your prospect through initial awareness to a complete buyer’s journey. Whether it’s SEO or Google Ads, this funnel remains important, dividing into three main pillars and targeting specific KPIs:
- Top of the Funnel (TOFU) – where you create brand awareness for cold audience
- Middle of the Funnel (MOFU) – where your targeted prospects start considering your offerings
- Bottom of the Funnel (BOFU) – the final stage, where your prospects turn into buyers, brand advocates
For every stage, you create high quality content to evoke emotion. Infuse well-optimized, relevant, and highly performed keywords. Ease your brand search.
As long as you publish those content and align SEO efforts, they bring organic visibility. As months pass, your website becomes authoritative, so your brand is trustworthy. The growing traffic, visibility, and clicks don’t stop converting until you make negative efforts.
Now, flip the side. By using quality Ad copy on Google Ad campaigns, you drive interest, demand, and warm-up your prospects. You can retarget and remarket to show up repeatedly, triggering instant buying intent. However, it works till the time your Google Ad budget keeps running.
It’s Clear: SEO brings longevity and sustainability to your brands’ website, enhances CTR, free. Google Ads deliver highly qualified leads, instant, for a cost. |
SEO vs Google Ads: Who Can Bring Better ROI for Your Canadian Business?
To understand it, let’s compare SEO and Google Ads, with numerical example:
Month 1-12:
- In SEO, you spend more on quality content. A minimum 20-30 leads, you can get each month, who finds you through search results. Moreover, you can expect getting 5-10 leads as part of referral. Therefore, the cost of each lead remains on the lower side. For example,
- Monthly SEO cost: $2,000
- Average leads from organic search: 20–30 per month
- Referral leads from visibility: 5–10 per month
- Total leads per month: ~25–40
- Cost per lead (approx.): $2,000 ÷ 30 leads ≈ $65 per lead
- In contrast, Google Ads drives result as long as you keep the ad campaign running as per your budget. Also, the cost per lead hits high, an average of 15-20%. Let’s take an example,
- Monthly ad budget: $2,000
- Average CPC: $5
- Total clicks per month: 400
- Conversion rate: 5%
- Leads generated: 400 × 5% = 20 leads
- Cost per lead: $2,000 ÷ 20 = $100 per lead
From search presence to conversion, we help you grow beyond pitch deck, without wasted budget.
Year 2-3:
- To maintain the same or more lead volume, your ad budget needs to increase. Due to higher competition, let’s say, your CPC increases from $5 to $6.5. If you’ve a budget of $2,600, you can get 20 leads at a cost of $130 per lead, instantly.
- However, with strategic SEO momentum, you can grow traffic and leads organically, over months. Let’s say, when your organic leads grow to 45–60 per month, your cost per lead drops to around $40. You can get it by maintaining the same monthly SEO budget of $2,000.
Hence, it’s proven again, Google Ads serves quicker ROI, though it stops when budget ends. In contrast, SEO provides long-term, compounding ROI – without budget constraint.
SEO or Google Ads: What Do You Need to Choose & When?
Let’s understand individuals’ scalability to find your answer!
When Google Ads make sense
- You want to hear back right away about your new launches or seasonal offers.
- You want to enter a new market full of sharks who are always ready to beat opponents.
- Most importantly, when you can’t wait for a month or two to bring your brand to the forefront.
When SEO lasts to win
- You want to increase trust over immediate buying intent, especially if your targeted customers do extensive research before investment.
- You don’t want to burn your hefty bucks in one go; keep CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) lower with SEO and turn it into a revenue engine.
- You aim to align with the search trends, appearing into AEO (Answer Engine Optimization) and GEO (Generative Engine Optimization) results.
SEO or Google Ads? Why Not Both?
That’s a wise decision, undoubtedly!
However, SEO and Google Ads work differently to fix your bottom line; they aren’t absolute enemies – what you may assume.
You can combine both approaches to get financial flexibility and protection – without compromising buyers’ journeys and losing brand advocates.
Your website and search effort should clearly explain the brand value. Fix the gap with SEO & Google Ads.
How? Let me explain!
- Master keyword planning: use informational, transactional, and negative keywords to make your content funnel. Test those keywords into Google Ads before committing them into SEO searches. You can block irrelevant searches, driving only qualified leads.
- Dominate search result: imagine bringing trust and credibility with growing organic searches and paid ads. You capture the top spot on both ways. This double appearance can help you gain better visibility, in less competition.
- Leverage retargeting: this can be your knockout tactic. Think of remarketing to showcase ads to those audiences who find you through organic searches. Keep your brand top-of-mind and recapture buying intent.
Let’s Design the Synergy with SEO & Google Ads, Instead of a One-Side Choice!
Most successful Canadian businessmen don’t try out SEO and Google Ads as different spaces.
Instead, they combine the path of marketing success in Canada with SEO and Google Ads. Together, both spectrums count on data-driven, resilient, stronger online presence. Ignore one, it feels like training your arms but not legs.
P.S: I know, jotting down individuals’ strategy and cost can overwhelm you. Don’t worry! As I promise, I can help you get the traction strategically, instead of putting your budget on risk. If you want this growth ecosystem to win today’s and tomorrow’s sales arena, book your strategy call.
FAQs
Yes, of course! In fact, this is the most effective approach strategically. While SEO can bring long–term trust and authority, Google Ads can deliver quick traffic and conversions.
SEO is a long-term strategy. To show its growing result, you have to be patient for at least 3-6 months. Though in the first few months, you can experience small improvements for brand awareness.
Most Canadians, around 76%, search nearby small businesses before visiting them. Therefore, Local SEO can help you appear through map listings and bring trust with positive reviews.
They both have their own benefits. While SEO can be cost-effective for the long run. Google Ads can bring short-term quicker ROI. Ads is comparatively expensive, as you need to pay every time to get the traction and the cost depends on competition of your targeted keywords.
Doing it on your own, can be overwhelming. You can talk to the industry expert of the Canadian business marketing and growth strategy consultant, like Infinity Digital. Once you share your business objectives, we’ll help you with both SEO and Google Ads to lower CAC, higher conversion and retention.